PDA

View Full Version : Please suggest a good free online image hosting service



Ext User(networm)
19-09-2005, 05:04 AM
HI all,

I often need to post some images from my digital camera to online image
host... such as personal album to share with people on the forum&newsgroups,
etc. or family members, etc. could you please recommend a good free hosting
service?

I found many such service only allow uploading one image per time, if you
have 10, then that's terrible...

Ideally, the online album should be just like a networked disk drive
connected to my PC, so I just have to drag and place... then it will
automatically upload...

Is there such a service?

Thanks a lot!

Ext User(Bucolic)
19-09-2005, 06:13 AM
Try Flickr.com, I use that myself. You can upload online 6 pictures
simultaneously, or you can get one of their Flickr Uploaders which,
like you require, enable you to "drag-and-drop" upload. It's free and
all you need is a Yahoo! id.

Ext User(networm)
19-09-2005, 11:33 AM
"Bucolic" <nicklwj@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1127070386.527935.281180@o13g2000cwo.googlegr oups.com...
> Try Flickr.com, I use that myself. You can upload online 6 pictures
> simultaneously, or you can get one of their Flickr Uploaders which,
> like you require, enable you to "drag-and-drop" upload. It's free and
> all you need is a Yahoo! id.
>

It is very cool! Thanks a lot!

The only pity is that when I am looking for the URL address of my uploaded
images, I have to click on each of the images, and then click on the button
"all sizes", then scroll down the webpage, and then find instrufctions on
how to post this image to other forums, etc...

I hope this can be a one step process...

It could just tell me the URL addresses right after it has been uploaded...
in the uploading tool!

Thanks a lot!

Ext User(VManes)
23-09-2005, 04:33 PM
Check the current issue of PC Magazine - they do a review of several such
services

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
"We've secretly switched the dilithium crystals with new Folger's
Crystals...
let's watch what happens."
~~~~~~~~~~~~
"networm" <networm8848@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:%23M1MTsHvFHA.3764@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
HI all,

I often need to post some images from my digital camera to online image
host... such as personal album to share with people on the forum&newsgroups,
etc. or family members, etc. could you please recommend a good free hosting
service?

I found many such service only allow uploading one image per time, if you
have 10, then that's terrible...

Ideally, the online album should be just like a networked disk drive
connected to my PC, so I just have to drag and place... then it will
automatically upload...

Is there such a service?

Thanks a lot!

Ext User(Plato)
23-09-2005, 05:03 PM
VManes wrote:
>
> Check the current issue of PC Magazine - they do a review of several such
> services

It's not always a valid review. Keep in mind that while there are many
pc magazines, many of them are published by the same company.

Example: You may read that "xxxxx system suite" is the best thing since
sliced bread in one magazine, and you know from your personal experience
that its really garbage.

Here's what often happens. "xxxxx system suite" may have a HUGE ad in
another magazine published by the same company. So, in return, they get
a good review in a magazine that doesn't contain their ad. Looks legit
eh?







--
http://www.bootdisk.com/

Ext User(Ken Blake)
24-09-2005, 04:44 AM
In news:4333981e$0$193$bb4e3ad8@newscene.com,
Plato <|@|.|> typed:

> VManes wrote:
>>
>> Check the current issue of PC Magazine - they do a review of
>> several
>> such services
>
> It's not always a valid review. Keep in mind that while there
> are many
> pc magazines, many of them are published by the same company.
>
> Example: You may read that "xxxxx system suite" is the best
> thing
> since sliced bread in one magazine, and you know from your
> personal
> experience that its really garbage.
>
> Here's what often happens. "xxxxx system suite" may have a HUGE
> ad in
> another magazine published by the same company. So, in return,
> they
> get a good review in a magazine that doesn't contain their ad.
> Looks
> legit eh?


Yes, and over and above that, the people who write their reviews
are of uneven quality. A number of years ago I had a young woman
working for me whose previous job was as a staff writer/reviewer
for PC Magazine. She could barely spell "PC" let alone know
anything about them.

--
Ken Blake - Microsoft MVP Windows: Shell/User
Please reply to the newsgroup

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd