PDA

View Full Version : How can I delete a computer admin account



Ext User(Timk)
02-06-2007, 12:06 AM
I'm running Windows XP Pro. I don't know much about it. I created another
account, and made it a computer admin account. I would like to be able to
startup to that new account, and get rid of the original account. At the
moment, I have to startup with the original account, and then switch. I can
see no way of changing this behaviour. I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks.

Ext User(Shenan Stanley)
02-06-2007, 12:23 AM
Timk wrote:
> I'm running Windows XP Pro. I don't know much about it. I created
> another account, and made it a computer admin account. I would like
> to be able to startup to that new account, and get rid of the
> original account. At the moment, I have to startup with the
> original account, and then switch. I can see no way of changing
> this behaviour. I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks.

Sounds like you have some sort of Automatic Logon turned on - otherwise - if
you have two accounts (administrative or not) you would have to logon wither
with the classic 'type in username/password' logon screen or with the
simplified 'Welcome Screen' model.

Turn off the automatic logon.

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Ext User(Timk)
02-06-2007, 01:36 AM
Thanks,

Um, sorry, but how do I turn off the automatic logon?

Timk

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> Timk wrote:
> > I'm running Windows XP Pro. I don't know much about it. I created
> > another account, and made it a computer admin account. I would like
> > to be able to startup to that new account, and get rid of the
> > original account. At the moment, I have to startup with the
> > original account, and then switch. I can see no way of changing
> > this behaviour. I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks.
>
> Sounds like you have some sort of Automatic Logon turned on - otherwise - if
> you have two accounts (administrative or not) you would have to logon wither
> with the classic 'type in username/password' logon screen or with the
> simplified 'Welcome Screen' model.
>
> Turn off the automatic logon.
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>

Ext User(Shenan Stanley)
02-06-2007, 01:43 AM
Timk wrote:
> I'm running Windows XP Pro. I don't know much about it. I created
> another account, and made it a computer admin account. I would
> like to be able to startup to that new account, and get rid of the
> original account. At the moment, I have to startup with the
> original account, and then switch. I can see no way of changing
> this behaviour. I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks.

Shenan Stanley wrote:
> Sounds like you have some sort of Automatic Logon turned on -
> otherwise - if you have two accounts (administrative or not) you
> would have to logon wither with the classic 'type in
> username/password' logon screen or with the simplified 'Welcome
> Screen' model.
>
> Turn off the automatic logon.

Timk wrote:
> Um, sorry, but how do I turn off the automatic logon?

Search using Google!
http://www.google.com/
(How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )

Know you cannot delete the built-in administrator. You can rename it - but
you cannot delete it.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=turn+off+automatic+logon+in+Windows+XP

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Ext User(Timk)
02-06-2007, 02:16 AM
Well, automatic logon is certainly not on, unless it's on by default. I've
never used Registry Editor.

Right now, the computer starts up with what I presume must be the built in
administrator, and then I have to switch to the account I have created. Is
that the way it should be? I was assuming that I could set it up to start up
with an account that I want, in the same way that I can with the Mac. Maybe
it's not possible.

TimK.

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> Timk wrote:
> > I'm running Windows XP Pro. I don't know much about it. I created
> > another account, and made it a computer admin account. I would
> > like to be able to startup to that new account, and get rid of the
> > original account. At the moment, I have to startup with the
> > original account, and then switch. I can see no way of changing
> > this behaviour. I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks.
>
> Shenan Stanley wrote:
> > Sounds like you have some sort of Automatic Logon turned on -
> > otherwise - if you have two accounts (administrative or not) you
> > would have to logon wither with the classic 'type in
> > username/password' logon screen or with the simplified 'Welcome
> > Screen' model.
> >
> > Turn off the automatic logon.
>
> Timk wrote:
> > Um, sorry, but how do I turn off the automatic logon?
>
> Search using Google!
> http://www.google.com/
> (How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )
>
> Know you cannot delete the built-in administrator. You can rename it - but
> you cannot delete it.
>
> http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=turn+off+automatic+logon+in+Windows+XP
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>

Ext User(Patrick Keenan)
02-06-2007, 02:49 AM
"Timk" <Timk@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:D019CC9B-08C7-45C8-9A54-5B3C10A1B12F@microsoft.com...
> I'm running Windows XP Pro. I don't know much about it. I created another
> account, and made it a computer admin account. I would like to be able to
> startup to that new account, and get rid of the original account. At the
> moment, I have to startup with the original account, and then switch. I
> can
> see no way of changing this behaviour. I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks.

It's usually an exceptionally bad idea to delete or otherwise disable the
original administrator account, which is named Administrator. Instead,
change its password to something strong, and store that somewhere you will
be able to find it when you need the account. And you eventually *will*
need it.

Other accounts can be created and deleted or disabled, just potentially
causing data loss.

The easiest way to deal with which accounts are shown and logged into is to
download TweakUI from the MS Powertoys collection, and make the adjustments
under the Login sections. This won't require you to make any manual
changes to the registry (TweakUI is a front end to specific registry
changes).

Note that for autologin, you may need to apply a password. Scheduled
tasks also often require the account to have a password.

Get TweakUI here:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

HTH
-pk

Ext User(Shenan Stanley)
02-06-2007, 02:57 AM
Timk wrote:
> Well, automatic logon is certainly not on, unless it's on by
> default. I've never used Registry Editor.
>
> Right now, the computer starts up with what I presume must be the
> built in administrator, and then I have to switch to the account I
> have created. Is that the way it should be? I was assuming that I
> could set it up to start up with an account that I want, in the
> same way that I can with the Mac. Maybe it's not possible.

TweakUI?
No passwords?
Control userpasswords2?

Registry editing is by far not the only way to setup an autologon.

Not only is it possible - it should be the way it is unless you have edited
it (or someone has) to automatically logon.
If you have more than one account - then boot up - let it log you in -
start--> run:

control userpasswords2

--> ok.

Make sure the checkbox that says "Users must enter a user name and password
to use this computer" is checked and OK your way out.

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd