PDA

View Full Version : Problems installing vmware player



Ext User(ocoster@gmail.com)
02-06-2007, 09:14 AM
Hi,

I am trying to install vmware player 2.0 on my Windows XP pro (SP2)
machine. When double clicking the exe nothing appears to happen (no
error messages, nothing). On several occasions I saw the VMware
installer splash and the Windows installer progress bar window
(Preparing to install VMware player...) pop up for a fraction of a
second and immediately disapper.

When doing this with the Task Manager open, I can see the process
start up and immediately dissapear.

The Windows Installer service is set to Manual and will start up
normally with other installers (also msi based): 7zip, firefox, open
office and others and I can continue with the setup with those without
a hitch.

I am admin on the machine and the setup file has the correct MD5 code.

Any idea what might be wrong and how I can fix it?

Thanks in advance,
SilverFox

Ext User(Matt)
02-06-2007, 09:14 AM
Strange as it may seem, I've known a couple of applications cause this,
one was an early version of LastFM, the other was Vidalia, which is part
of the TOR distribution. I have no idea why this is.

You could try msconfig (start/run/msconfig) then uncheck "load startup
items" reboot and see if you can install then.

ocoster@gmail.com wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I am trying to install vmware player 2.0 on my Windows XP pro (SP2)
> machine. When double clicking the exe nothing appears to happen (no
> error messages, nothing). On several occasions I saw the VMware
> installer splash and the Windows installer progress bar window
> (Preparing to install VMware player...) pop up for a fraction of a
> second and immediately disapper.
>
> When doing this with the Task Manager open, I can see the process
> start up and immediately dissapear.
>
> The Windows Installer service is set to Manual and will start up
> normally with other installers (also msi based): 7zip, firefox, open
> office and others and I can continue with the setup with those without
> a hitch.
>
> I am admin on the machine and the setup file has the correct MD5 code.
>
> Any idea what might be wrong and how I can fix it?
>
> Thanks in advance,
> SilverFox
>

------------------------------------------
http://www.Top-Windows-Tutorials.com

FREE step by step guides, tutorials and
advice for Windows users. All our video
guides are full size and 100% advert free!
------------------------------------------

Ext User(ocoster@gmail.com)
04-06-2007, 04:53 AM
Hi Matt,

Spot on! I had a FixCamera.Exe item on startup that seems to have
caused this (both killing the installer and VMWare player once
installed).

Now it is off my system and all is well.

Thanks!

Ext User(Matt)
04-06-2007, 06:43 AM
ocoster@gmail.com wrote:
> Hi Matt,
>
> Spot on! I had a FixCamera.Exe item on startup that seems to have
> caused this (both killing the installer and VMWare player once
> installed).
>
> Now it is off my system and all is well.
>
> Thanks!
>
Glad to be of help :)

------------------------------------------
http://www.Top-Windows-Tutorials.com

FREE step by step guides, tutorials and
advice for Windows users. All our video
guides are full size and 100% advert free!
------------------------------------------

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd