PDA

View Full Version : RAID 1 drive not found in My Computer.



Ext User(Rusty.not)
02-06-2007, 02:53 PM
I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New hardware
would not find it. Device manager shows:

Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.

Both device properties say 'working properly'.

There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my computer.
The RAID drive is data only, not boot.

Can I fix this?

Ext User(Andrew E.)
02-06-2007, 04:23 PM
RAID 0 or 1,needs to be set in BIOS,but once set,a post BIOS RAID set up
utility
needs to run,in this,you configure the RAID set.Also,the post RAID utility
runs
or gets displayed at every start-up or restart,if none of this is
configured,then
RAID will not be shown in xp....Once all is set,then format the 2 hds in xp
or
boot to xp cd,recovery,format them

"Rusty.not" wrote:

> I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New hardware
> would not find it. Device manager shows:
>
> Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
> SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.
>
> Both device properties say 'working properly'.
>
> There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my computer.
> The RAID drive is data only, not boot.
>
> Can I fix this?
>

Ext User(Rusty.not)
02-06-2007, 05:33 PM
Thanks. Sorry I wasn't clear. The POST RAID is correct (Array 0, RAID 1.)

The VIA (mfgr) RAID utility is present in the tray. It allows me to mirror
and see other info about the existing array.. As I mentioned in my orig.,
both the drive array and the RAID controller ARE present in Device Manager,
but no RAID drive (or array) shows up in My Computer.


"Andrew E." wrote:

> RAID 0 or 1,needs to be set in BIOS,but once set,a post BIOS RAID set up
> utility
> needs to run,in this,you configure the RAID set.Also,the post RAID utility
> runs
> or gets displayed at every start-up or restart,if none of this is
> configured,then
> RAID will not be shown in xp....Once all is set,then format the 2 hds in xp
> or
> boot to xp cd,recovery,format them
>
> "Rusty.not" wrote:
>
> > I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New hardware
> > would not find it. Device manager shows:
> >
> > Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
> > SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.
> >
> > Both device properties say 'working properly'.
> >
> > There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my computer.
> > The RAID drive is data only, not boot.
> >
> > Can I fix this?
> >

Ext User(DL)
02-06-2007, 07:03 PM
I'm not entirely clear, is this a new empty drive?
What is shown in Disk Management?

"Rusty.not" <Rusty.not@home.com> wrote in message
news:75526970-37F1-4DBA-B45C-3E0FEC9C7853@microsoft.com...
> Thanks. Sorry I wasn't clear. The POST RAID is correct (Array 0, RAID
1.)
>
> The VIA (mfgr) RAID utility is present in the tray. It allows me to
mirror
> and see other info about the existing array.. As I mentioned in my orig.,
> both the drive array and the RAID controller ARE present in Device
Manager,
> but no RAID drive (or array) shows up in My Computer.
>
>
> "Andrew E." wrote:
>
> > RAID 0 or 1,needs to be set in BIOS,but once set,a post BIOS RAID set
up
> > utility
> > needs to run,in this,you configure the RAID set.Also,the post RAID
utility
> > runs
> > or gets displayed at every start-up or restart,if none of this is
> > configured,then
> > RAID will not be shown in xp....Once all is set,then format the 2 hds
in xp
> > or
> > boot to xp cd,recovery,format them
> >
> > "Rusty.not" wrote:
> >
> > > I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New
hardware
> > > would not find it. Device manager shows:
> > >
> > > Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
> > > SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.
> > >
> > > Both device properties say 'working properly'.
> > >
> > > There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my computer.
> > > The RAID drive is data only, not boot.
> > >
> > > Can I fix this?
> > >

Ext User(Rusty.not)
03-06-2007, 09:14 AM
Thanks. Empty drives, Maxtor 160 GB each. Data mirroring process completed
in VIA RAID utility. The Windows VIA RAID utility "sees" the array and both
drives.

No sign of RAID 1 or either drive in Disk Management. From before, the RAID
1 device is visible in Device Manager. So is the RAID controller.

Thanks again.


"DL" wrote:

> I'm not entirely clear, is this a new empty drive?
> What is shown in Disk Management?
>
> "Rusty.not" <Rusty.not@home.com> wrote in message
> news:75526970-37F1-4DBA-B45C-3E0FEC9C7853@microsoft.com...
> > Thanks. Sorry I wasn't clear. The POST RAID is correct (Array 0, RAID
> 1.)
> >
> > The VIA (mfgr) RAID utility is present in the tray. It allows me to
> mirror
> > and see other info about the existing array.. As I mentioned in my orig.,
> > both the drive array and the RAID controller ARE present in Device
> Manager,
> > but no RAID drive (or array) shows up in My Computer.
> >
> >
> > "Andrew E." wrote:
> >
> > > RAID 0 or 1,needs to be set in BIOS,but once set,a post BIOS RAID set
> up
> > > utility
> > > needs to run,in this,you configure the RAID set.Also,the post RAID
> utility
> > > runs
> > > or gets displayed at every start-up or restart,if none of this is
> > > configured,then
> > > RAID will not be shown in xp....Once all is set,then format the 2 hds
> in xp
> > > or
> > > boot to xp cd,recovery,format them
> > >
> > > "Rusty.not" wrote:
> > >
> > > > I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New
> hardware
> > > > would not find it. Device manager shows:
> > > >
> > > > Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
> > > > SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.
> > > >
> > > > Both device properties say 'working properly'.
> > > >
> > > > There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my computer.
> > > > The RAID drive is data only, not boot.
> > > >
> > > > Can I fix this?
> > > >
>
>
>

Ext User(Rusty.not)
03-06-2007, 09:23 AM
I misspoke in my last post. The RAID drive is visible in Disk Management.
Its properties are: Disk 1, Basic, 149.05 GB, online, unallocated.

I'm looking at diskpart.exe

Maybe we're getting close.

"DL" wrote:

> I'm not entirely clear, is this a new empty drive?
> What is shown in Disk Management?
>
> "Rusty.not" <Rusty.not@home.com> wrote in message
> news:75526970-37F1-4DBA-B45C-3E0FEC9C7853@microsoft.com...
> > Thanks. Sorry I wasn't clear. The POST RAID is correct (Array 0, RAID
> 1.)
> >
> > The VIA (mfgr) RAID utility is present in the tray. It allows me to
> mirror
> > and see other info about the existing array.. As I mentioned in my orig.,
> > both the drive array and the RAID controller ARE present in Device
> Manager,
> > but no RAID drive (or array) shows up in My Computer.
> >
> >
> > "Andrew E." wrote:
> >
> > > RAID 0 or 1,needs to be set in BIOS,but once set,a post BIOS RAID set
> up
> > > utility
> > > needs to run,in this,you configure the RAID set.Also,the post RAID
> utility
> > > runs
> > > or gets displayed at every start-up or restart,if none of this is
> > > configured,then
> > > RAID will not be shown in xp....Once all is set,then format the 2 hds
> in xp
> > > or
> > > boot to xp cd,recovery,format them
> > >
> > > "Rusty.not" wrote:
> > >
> > > > I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New
> hardware
> > > > would not find it. Device manager shows:
> > > >
> > > > Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
> > > > SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.
> > > >
> > > > Both device properties say 'working properly'.
> > > >
> > > > There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my computer.
> > > > The RAID drive is data only, not boot.
> > > >
> > > > Can I fix this?
> > > >
>
>
>

Ext User(DL)
03-06-2007, 08:23 PM
The raid utility builds the raid, but doesnt format the hd.
You need to create the partition & Format in Disk Management, only then will
it become avialable. (Just like any other hd)

"Rusty.not" <Rusty.not@home.com> wrote in message
news:DA85E7A4-0A41-4ED2-A65A-8D21E0E17620@microsoft.com...
> I misspoke in my last post. The RAID drive is visible in Disk Management.
> Its properties are: Disk 1, Basic, 149.05 GB, online, unallocated.
>
> I'm looking at diskpart.exe
>
> Maybe we're getting close.
>
> "DL" wrote:
>
> > I'm not entirely clear, is this a new empty drive?
> > What is shown in Disk Management?
> >
> > "Rusty.not" <Rusty.not@home.com> wrote in message
> > news:75526970-37F1-4DBA-B45C-3E0FEC9C7853@microsoft.com...
> > > Thanks. Sorry I wasn't clear. The POST RAID is correct (Array 0,
RAID
> > 1.)
> > >
> > > The VIA (mfgr) RAID utility is present in the tray. It allows me to
> > mirror
> > > and see other info about the existing array.. As I mentioned in my
orig.,
> > > both the drive array and the RAID controller ARE present in Device
> > Manager,
> > > but no RAID drive (or array) shows up in My Computer.
> > >
> > >
> > > "Andrew E." wrote:
> > >
> > > > RAID 0 or 1,needs to be set in BIOS,but once set,a post BIOS RAID
set
> > up
> > > > utility
> > > > needs to run,in this,you configure the RAID set.Also,the post RAID
> > utility
> > > > runs
> > > > or gets displayed at every start-up or restart,if none of this is
> > > > configured,then
> > > > RAID will not be shown in xp....Once all is set,then format the 2
hds
> > in xp
> > > > or
> > > > boot to xp cd,recovery,format them
> > > >
> > > > "Rusty.not" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > I installed XPPro. Later I set up RAID1 in BIOS. Scan for New
> > hardware
> > > > > would not find it. Device manager shows:
> > > > >
> > > > > Disk Drives > VIA SATA RAID 1 SCSI Disk device.
> > > > > SCSI and RAID Controllers > VIA SATA RAID Controller.
> > > > >
> > > > > Both device properties say 'working properly'.
> > > > >
> > > > > There's no mention of either SCSI drive or RAID drive in my
computer.
> > > > > The RAID drive is data only, not boot.
> > > > >
> > > > > Can I fix this?
> > > > >
> >
> >
> >

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd