PDA

View Full Version : WHICH BROWSER TO USE



Ext User(PattiChati)
03-06-2007, 01:56 AM
I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox and
still no luck.
I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
it.
I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
I have windows xp

Ext User(David H. Lipman)
03-06-2007, 02:23 AM
From: "PattiChati" <PattiChati@anywhere.invalid>

| I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
| please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
| I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
| open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
| links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox and
| still no luck.
| I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
| it.
| I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
| I have windows xp
|

I find FireFox works great. All the web sites I use work with it but... there is soem
conent differences. Otherwise you may want to try Opera.

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm

Ext User(Leythos)
03-06-2007, 02:53 AM
In article <#1M4qUSpHHA.4212@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl>,
PattiChati@anywhere.invalid says...
> I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
> please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
> I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
> open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
> links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox and
> still no luck.
> I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
> it.
> I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
> I have windows xp

Any site that doesn't work with FireFox is a site that does not follow
the HTTP norms and standards and was built by people that took the
cheap/easy way designed using MS IE as the browser.

Since moving clients to FireFox we've had about a 30% reduction in
service calls/issues overall. The only complication is that some sites,
banking, sites that are citrix front ends, require IE - but they also
require that you know enough to put them in the IE Trusted Security zone
in order to get them to operate.

If you were to properly configure IE, as MS suggests, for high security,
at least 75% of websites would be missing content or not work at all -
with FireFox, in it's default mode, at least 99% of the sites work and
don't expose you to the threats that are common for IE.

Keep using FF for as much as possible, use IE only for sites that you
TRUST beyond question - stop using noncritical sites that only work with
IE and file a complaint with the web-master of the site.

--

Leythos
- Igitur qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum.
- Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented worker" is like calling a
drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist"
spam999free@rrohio.com (remove 999 for proper email address)

Ext User(PattiChati)
03-06-2007, 04:58 AM
Thanks for the info. But now can you help me with something else that bugs
me. My tab mix plus doesn't keep all the tabs. It kind of seems like it
saves some and not others - just a hit and miss. Also, it rarely saves my
yahoo mail tab. Any ideas for this? Thanks.

"Leythos" <void@nowhere.lan> wrote in message
news:MPG.20cb598561e93ae59896bf@adfree.Usenet.com. ..
> In article <#1M4qUSpHHA.4212@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl>,
> PattiChati@anywhere.invalid says...
>> I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
>> please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
>> I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
>> open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
>> links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox
>> and
>> still no luck.
>> I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
>> it.
>> I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
>> I have windows xp
>
> Any site that doesn't work with FireFox is a site that does not follow
> the HTTP norms and standards and was built by people that took the
> cheap/easy way designed using MS IE as the browser.
>
> Since moving clients to FireFox we've had about a 30% reduction in
> service calls/issues overall. The only complication is that some sites,
> banking, sites that are citrix front ends, require IE - but they also
> require that you know enough to put them in the IE Trusted Security zone
> in order to get them to operate.
>
> If you were to properly configure IE, as MS suggests, for high security,
> at least 75% of websites would be missing content or not work at all -
> with FireFox, in it's default mode, at least 99% of the sites work and
> don't expose you to the threats that are common for IE.
>
> Keep using FF for as much as possible, use IE only for sites that you
> TRUST beyond question - stop using noncritical sites that only work with
> IE and file a complaint with the web-master of the site.
>
> --
>
> Leythos
> - Igitur qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum.
> - Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented worker" is like calling a
> drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist"
> spam999free@rrohio.com (remove 999 for proper email address)

Ext User(Rhubarb)
03-06-2007, 05:34 AM
My default browser is Firefox. It seems to be much more user friendly, and
if you take advantage of the many plugins available, it is far more
sophisticated than Internet Exploder.
There are over sixty browser designs available, last I heard. Many do not
work to full advantage on certain websites because of tunnel vision on the
part of those who built the sites. I keep a copy of IE available if it is
really important for me to use it, such as certain financial sites.. I also
complain to them to get with the program and make the site Firefox compatible.

"PattiChati" wrote:

> I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
> please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
> I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
> open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
> links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox and
> still no luck.
> I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
> it.
> I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
> I have windows xp
>
>
>

Ext User(glee)
03-06-2007, 10:43 AM
Problems with the Tab Mix Plus add-on should be addressed to the Problems and
Questions forum of the Tab Mix Plus developer:
http://tmp.garyr.net/forum/
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Shell/User, A+
http://dts-l.org/
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm


"PattiChati" <PattiChati@anywhere.invalid> wrote in message
news:uaCIx0TpHHA.1220@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
> Thanks for the info. But now can you help me with something else that bugs me.
> My tab mix plus doesn't keep all the tabs. It kind of seems like it saves some
> and not others - just a hit and miss. Also, it rarely saves my yahoo mail tab.
> Any ideas for this? Thanks.
>
> "Leythos" <void@nowhere.lan> wrote in message
> news:MPG.20cb598561e93ae59896bf@adfree.Usenet.com. ..
>> In article <#1M4qUSpHHA.4212@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl>,
>> PattiChati@anywhere.invalid says...
>>> I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
>>> please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
>>> I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
>>> open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
>>> links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox and
>>> still no luck.
>>> I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
>>> it.
>>> I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
>>> I have windows xp
>>
>> Any site that doesn't work with FireFox is a site that does not follow
>> the HTTP norms and standards and was built by people that took the
>> cheap/easy way designed using MS IE as the browser.
>>
>> Since moving clients to FireFox we've had about a 30% reduction in
>> service calls/issues overall. The only complication is that some sites,
>> banking, sites that are citrix front ends, require IE - but they also
>> require that you know enough to put them in the IE Trusted Security zone
>> in order to get them to operate.
>>
>> If you were to properly configure IE, as MS suggests, for high security,
>> at least 75% of websites would be missing content or not work at all -
>> with FireFox, in it's default mode, at least 99% of the sites work and
>> don't expose you to the threats that are common for IE.
>>
>> Keep using FF for as much as possible, use IE only for sites that you
>> TRUST beyond question - stop using noncritical sites that only work with
>> IE and file a complaint with the web-master of the site.
>>
>> --
>>
>> Leythos
>> - Igitur qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum.
>> - Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented worker" is like calling a
>> drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist"
>> spam999free@rrohio.com (remove 999 for proper email address)
>
>

Ext User(PattiChati)
03-06-2007, 01:13 PM
Okay, I have the newest FF 2.0.0.4 and am going to try and work with it.
Are there certain things that I should have checked or not checked or things
that I should set to make it run at its maximum speed and fewest errors. As
Rhubarb said "he takes advantage of the many plugins available". I am not
sure what these would be. I do have a few extensions, but I don't know
which ones would make life easier. Thanks.

"Rhubarb" <Rhubarb@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:0E254654-15BC-466B-ADD6-9BBF0733FEA6@microsoft.com...
>
> My default browser is Firefox. It seems to be much more user friendly, and
> if you take advantage of the many plugins available, it is far more
> sophisticated than Internet Exploder.
> There are over sixty browser designs available, last I heard. Many do not
> work to full advantage on certain websites because of tunnel vision on the
> part of those who built the sites. I keep a copy of IE available if it is
> really important for me to use it, such as certain financial sites.. I
> also
> complain to them to get with the program and make the site Firefox
> compatible.
>
> "PattiChati" wrote:
>
>> I could not find a newsgroup for Browsers. So if there is one, would you
>> please send me a link? Meanwhile I will just ask it here.
>> I am presently using Firefox, but it seems to be quirky in that it won't
>> open some websites and also I cannot see some pictures when you click on
>> links. I have this quite often. I have worked with forums on Firefox
>> and
>> still no luck.
>> I also used Slimbrowser in the past, but don't really remember much about
>> it.
>> I know IE has problems and I have been told not to use that one.
>> I have windows xp
>>
>>
>>

Ext User(Zilbandy)
03-06-2007, 01:13 PM
On Sat, 2 Jun 2007 21:57:56 -0400, "PattiChati" <PattiChati@yahoo.com>
wrote:

>I have the newest FF 2.0.0.4 and am going to try and work with it.

And here I am sticking with SlimBrowser. :) Yeah, it's IE with a skin,
but it's caused me no problems... yet.

--
Zilbandy

Ext User(C A Upsdell)
03-06-2007, 03:03 PM
PattiChati wrote:
> Okay, I have the newest FF 2.0.0.4 and am going to try and work with it.
> Are there certain things that I should have checked or not checked or things
> that I should set to make it run at its maximum speed and fewest errors. As
> Rhubarb said "he takes advantage of the many plugins available". I am not
> sure what these would be. I do have a few extensions, but I don't know
> which ones would make life easier. Thanks.

FF problems, like IE problems, are oft caused by extensions / add-ons.

Don't install an extension you do not need.

Install only one extension at a time, then use FF for a while before
installing the next. This will enable you to more easily identify a
problem due to a bad extension.

Ext User(Rhubarb)
04-06-2007, 04:55 AM
"C A Upsdell" <""cupsdell"@nospam@upsdel" wrote:
<snip
> FF problems, like IE problems, are oft caused by extensions / add-ons.
>
> Don't install an extension you do not need.
>
> Install only one extension at a time, then use FF for a while before
> installing the next. This will enable you to more easily identify a
> problem due to a bad extension.
Well said, C A.

The plugins are designed by many different programmers, and some are not as
good as others. Just like any other software, install them one at a time and
evaluate each separately.
That is the best plan.
Most of the extensions (plugins) have good descriptions available, so it is
fairly easy to decide whether or not to install it. I find the ones that are
most helpful to me are search engine links like dictionary.com or whatis.com.
It is a good idea any time you make alterations to your system to create a
new restore point first. That has saved me a lot of grief!

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd