PDA

View Full Version : booting XP from raid 1 set



Ext User(fergie)
03-06-2007, 08:54 AM
Hello All,

Have me a computer with two drives set up as raid 1 (mirror) on a adaptec
1200 raid controller. Tryed to reinstall XP onto those but it wont restart
from Hdd during the instalation. Can I get this to work at all ?

Ext User(Shenan Stanley)
03-06-2007, 08:54 AM
fergie wrote:
> Have me a computer with two drives set up as raid 1 (mirror) on a
> adaptec 1200 raid controller. Tryed to reinstall XP onto those but
> it wont restart from Hdd during the instalation. Can I get this to
> work at all ?

F6 installation...
You need the correct RAID card driver during setup.

Search using Google!
http://www.google.com/
(How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Ext User(fergie)
03-06-2007, 10:16 AM
Hello Shenan,

I should off course have mentioned I did that !. It then goes about
installing like normal up to the re-boot. during the reboot I get the BSOD
telling me something went wrong.

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> fergie wrote:
> > Have me a computer with two drives set up as raid 1 (mirror) on a
> > adaptec 1200 raid controller. Tryed to reinstall XP onto those but
> > it wont restart from Hdd during the instalation. Can I get this to
> > work at all ?
>
> F6 installation...
> You need the correct RAID card driver during setup.
>
> Search using Google!
> http://www.google.com/
> (How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>

Ext User(fergie)
03-06-2007, 10:16 AM
Hello Shenan,

Sorry for not mentioning what steps I took. I did use F6, disk with driver
in A: and setup went about installing like normal up to the reboot. It
displays the message stating windows and then a BSOD telling it went all
terribly wrong.

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> fergie wrote:
> > Have me a computer with two drives set up as raid 1 (mirror) on a
> > adaptec 1200 raid controller. Tryed to reinstall XP onto those but
> > it wont restart from Hdd during the instalation. Can I get this to
> > work at all ?
>
> F6 installation...
> You need the correct RAID card driver during setup.
>
> Search using Google!
> http://www.google.com/
> (How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>

Ext User(Shenan Stanley)
03-06-2007, 10:33 AM
fergie wrote:
> Have me a computer with two drives set up as raid 1 (mirror) on a
> adaptec 1200 raid controller. Tryed to reinstall XP onto those but
> it wont restart from Hdd during the instalation. Can I get this to
> work at all ?

Shenan Stanley wrote:
> F6 installation...
> You need the correct RAID card driver during setup.
>
> Search using Google!
> http://www.google.com/
> (How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )

fergie wrote:
> I should off course have mentioned I did that !. It then goes about
> installing like normal up to the re-boot. during the reboot I get
> the BSOD telling me something went wrong.

What *exactly* does the Blue Screen 'of Death' tell you?

The whole thing is not necessary... But the very first few lines usually
hold the critical information.

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Ext User(fergie)
03-06-2007, 08:33 PM
Hello Shenan,

Don't get me wrong, I don't mind the BSOD, I am glad I've not seen one since
swithcing to 2000....

This one tels me (free translation from dutch)

If this is the first time you see this screen restart your computer.
If this is the seccond time you see this screen do the following :

Check the computer for viruses. Remove any new drives and controllers
from the system. Check if the harddisk is connected and configured correctly.
Check using checckdisk /f if the hard drive has no errors on it.
Then reboot the system.

Technical information:

0X0000007B ( 0XF9E448528, 0XC0000034, 0X00000000, 0X00000000)

As you will appriciate, I've only got two HDD's in it (raid 1) and this
computer
used to run 2000 on the same configuration. If need be I can install windows
on a
seperate HDD, I've got room for more.

Regards,

Fergie.

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> fergie wrote:
> > Have me a computer with two drives set up as raid 1 (mirror) on a
> > adaptec 1200 raid controller. Tryed to reinstall XP onto those but
> > it wont restart from Hdd during the instalation. Can I get this to
> > work at all ?
>
> Shenan Stanley wrote:
> > F6 installation...
> > You need the correct RAID card driver during setup.
> >
> > Search using Google!
> > http://www.google.com/
> > (How-to: http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/basics.html )
>
> fergie wrote:
> > I should off course have mentioned I did that !. It then goes about
> > installing like normal up to the re-boot. during the reboot I get
> > the BSOD telling me something went wrong.
>
> What *exactly* does the Blue Screen 'of Death' tell you?
>
> The whole thing is not necessary... But the very first few lines usually
> hold the critical information.
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd