PDA

View Full Version : Unable to Format More Than 10% of a Raid 0 Set



Ext User(Stewart Berman)
03-06-2007, 06:53 PM
A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
Windows XP SP2 With All Critical Updates

I have two 500GB SATA drives attached to an NVIDIA nForce 4 SLI Southbridge Raid controller.

I have enabled the Raid controller in the BIOS and selected STRIPPED (Raid 0).

I booted the system and Disk Management sees a single 931.52 GB drive. I tried to format it and
formatting just seems to stop at 10%. the drive activity light goes out. There aren't any error
messages.

I previously had the drives setup as a mirrored set (Raid 1) and that formatted fine so I don't
think it is a problem with the drives.

Do I need to use a special program to format a Raid 0 set?

Ext User(DL)
03-06-2007, 09:53 PM
You deleted the partition first, then created a new one?


"Stewart Berman" <sabmsdn@saberman.com> wrote in message
news:ibs463599civrgcu2o5ffpkohcd658hg11@4ax.com...
> A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
> Windows XP SP2 With All Critical Updates
>
> I have two 500GB SATA drives attached to an NVIDIA nForce 4 SLI
Southbridge Raid controller.
>
> I have enabled the Raid controller in the BIOS and selected STRIPPED (Raid
0).
>
> I booted the system and Disk Management sees a single 931.52 GB drive. I
tried to format it and
> formatting just seems to stop at 10%. the drive activity light goes out.
There aren't any error
> messages.
>
> I previously had the drives setup as a mirrored set (Raid 1) and that
formatted fine so I don't
> think it is a problem with the drives.
>
> Do I need to use a special program to format a Raid 0 set?

Ext User(Stewart Berman)
04-06-2007, 04:47 AM
First I broke the mirror by deleting the array. When I rebooted I could not see the drives at all
because I forgot to disable the raid option for the drives in the BIOS. So I did that and rebooted.
At that point I had two drives with identical partitions (the results of the mirroring). I deleted
all of the logical partitions and the extended partition from drives. They were totally
unallocated.

I then enabled raid support for the drives and selected STRIPPED (Raid 0) for the mode and rebuilt
the array. When I rebooted Windows said the hardware changed so much on the machine that I had to
reactivate it. It also said I had a new drive.

(Activation was a pain as it prompts before you login and my firewall would not let the activation
model access the network. I had to hit the remind me later button and then reactivate after I
logged in and the firewall could ask for permission to all the activation model to access the
network.)

I then created a single basic primary partition on the drive and tried to format it. I did it a few
times and each time it stopped at the 10% point. Finally, I gave up and did a quick format.

I am now in the process of restoring 700 GB of files from the backup drives.

"DL" <address@invalid> wrote:

>You deleted the partition first, then created a new one?
>
>
>"Stewart Berman" <sabmsdn@saberman.com> wrote in message
>news:ibs463599civrgcu2o5ffpkohcd658hg11@4ax.com...
>> A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
>> Windows XP SP2 With All Critical Updates
>>
>> I have two 500GB SATA drives attached to an NVIDIA nForce 4 SLI
>Southbridge Raid controller.
>>
>> I have enabled the Raid controller in the BIOS and selected STRIPPED (Raid
>0).
>>
>> I booted the system and Disk Management sees a single 931.52 GB drive. I
>tried to format it and
>> formatting just seems to stop at 10%. the drive activity light goes out.
>There aren't any error
>> messages.
>>
>> I previously had the drives setup as a mirrored set (Raid 1) and that
>formatted fine so I don't
>> think it is a problem with the drives.
>>
>> Do I need to use a special program to format a Raid 0 set?
>

Ext User(DL)
04-06-2007, 04:47 AM
Well at least its OK now;
When I've had similar problems I've either used the hd manu utility to
check/repair the hd, or on another occassion used a bootable floppy utility
from bootdisk.com to ensure the hd was clean.

"Stewart Berman" <sabmsdn@saberman.com> wrote in message
news:6vv563p0aprkee7a34ef2kbev5peuiag69@4ax.com...
> First I broke the mirror by deleting the array. When I rebooted I could
not see the drives at all
> because I forgot to disable the raid option for the drives in the BIOS.
So I did that and rebooted.
> At that point I had two drives with identical partitions (the results of
the mirroring). I deleted
> all of the logical partitions and the extended partition from drives.
They were totally
> unallocated.
>
> I then enabled raid support for the drives and selected STRIPPED (Raid 0)
for the mode and rebuilt
> the array. When I rebooted Windows said the hardware changed so much on
the machine that I had to
> reactivate it. It also said I had a new drive.
>
> (Activation was a pain as it prompts before you login and my firewall
would not let the activation
> model access the network. I had to hit the remind me later button and
then reactivate after I
> logged in and the firewall could ask for permission to all the activation
model to access the
> network.)
>
> I then created a single basic primary partition on the drive and tried to
format it. I did it a few
> times and each time it stopped at the 10% point. Finally, I gave up and
did a quick format.
>
> I am now in the process of restoring 700 GB of files from the backup
drives.
>
> "DL" <address@invalid> wrote:
>
> >You deleted the partition first, then created a new one?
> >
> >
> >"Stewart Berman" <sabmsdn@saberman.com> wrote in message
> >news:ibs463599civrgcu2o5ffpkohcd658hg11@4ax.com...
> >> A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
> >> Windows XP SP2 With All Critical Updates
> >>
> >> I have two 500GB SATA drives attached to an NVIDIA nForce 4 SLI
> >Southbridge Raid controller.
> >>
> >> I have enabled the Raid controller in the BIOS and selected STRIPPED
(Raid
> >0).
> >>
> >> I booted the system and Disk Management sees a single 931.52 GB drive.
I
> >tried to format it and
> >> formatting just seems to stop at 10%. the drive activity light goes
out.
> >There aren't any error
> >> messages.
> >>
> >> I previously had the drives setup as a mirrored set (Raid 1) and that
> >formatted fine so I don't
> >> think it is a problem with the drives.
> >>
> >> Do I need to use a special program to format a Raid 0 set?
> >
>

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd