PDA

View Full Version : Re: Faxing from PC or Laptop



Ext User(Patrick Keenan)
04-06-2007, 02:58 AM
"telboy1938" <telboy1938.2rlq6p@pcbanter.net> wrote in message
news:telboy1938.2rlq6p@pcbanter.net...
>
> I have been attempting to enable sending a fax from either PC or Laptop
> without success. Both are connected to broadband. On attemting via PC I
> am told to insert XP Proffessional disc with SP2 (which of course is not
> supplied with the computer) and although the Laptop appears to be set up
> correctly (asks me all the right questions etc) it still tell me "faxing
> failed"...Anyone out there to give me a step by step guide so that I may
> see what I am doing wrong?....Thanks...Telboy
>
> --
> telboy1938


You cannot fax via broadband. You have to use a plain telephone line, and a
modem (or a cellphone, properly configured). Connect a telephone to the
line you're plugging the modem into, to ensure that there is service (and a
dial tone).

Be sure that the modem is active and properly configured under Control
Panel, Phone and Modem Options.


HTH
-pk

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd