PDA

View Full Version : Config.msi



Ext User(Chris)
05-06-2007, 07:33 AM
I am trying to uninstall Office XP Pro and diskkeep pro with Control Panel /
Add or Remove Programs. I get an error that states that i do not have
sufficient permission to modify Config.msi. I have tried renaming the
existing folder, with no resolution. I have checked the folder's security
and see that the account I am logged in as has full control. I tried to add
System as having full control and get an error that I cannot acces
Config.msi because it is corrupted. I have tried creating a new
administrator user with the same results. The Uninstall program creates this
folder so I do not understand why it cannot access the folder. I wonder if
it has anything to do with Diskeeper Pro, which was installed on this system
without my knowledge by a "computer professional".

Ext User(Mark L. Ferguson)
06-06-2007, 01:03 AM
In XP Home Edition, there are certain permissions available only to the
default "Administrator" account. Boot to Safe Mode, and logon to that
account, and try the Remove again.

--
Was this post helpful to you? Then click the "Yes" button, below.
Voting helps others who use the web interface.
Mark L. Ferguson



"Chris" wrote:

> I am trying to uninstall Office XP Pro and diskkeep pro with Control Panel /
> Add or Remove Programs. I get an error that states that i do not have
> sufficient permission to modify Config.msi. I have tried renaming the
> existing folder, with no resolution. I have checked the folder's security
> and see that the account I am logged in as has full control. I tried to add
> System as having full control and get an error that I cannot acces
> Config.msi because it is corrupted. I have tried creating a new
> administrator user with the same results. The Uninstall program creates this
> folder so I do not understand why it cannot access the folder. I wonder if
> it has anything to do with Diskeeper Pro, which was installed on this system
> without my knowledge by a "computer professional".
>

Ext User(Chris)
06-06-2007, 04:57 AM
Oh, I forgot that part of the problem. I cannot boot to safe mode. It gets
loading AGP440 and stops. I have left it be for over 15 minutes and it never
got further along in the boot no matter that i boot to Safe Mode, Safe Mode
with Networking, or Safe Mode with Command Prompt. Also the System Restore
is turned off and I cannot turn it back on. I am thinking of re-installing
the OS, but that will mean re-installing all the programs and restoring the
data, a task I do not relish.

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd