PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard Athlon chip swap issue



Ext User(Nos)
05-10-2011, 09:41 AM
I have just swapped over processors from one machine to another .

I AMD Athlon 2.2 from my Aopen board to a Matsonic MS8147c
board........ and
1 Amd Athlon 2.5 from the Matsonic MS 8147C to the Aopen .board

The problem is one swap worked , the 2.5 Coupled with the Aopen works
fine but ........

the other swap Athlon 2.2 into the Matsonic board is not working . in
fact when i took out the processor to check everything , i smelt a
faint burning on the processor !! .

Whatever , when i replaced it , doing everything by the book , i still
get a blank picture , no boot , nothing , but the chip fan works ok as
do all other units , cd etc .

HAVE I BLOWN THE CHIP . i was under the impression the voltage is auto
detected , it is on the Aopen , maybe it aint on the Matsonic .


Any ideas

Ext User(JAD)
05-10-2011, 09:41 AM
first thing I do when replacing any major hardware component is to reset the
cmos or set to boot defaults


"Nos" <bluesplayer59@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:1165349599.841769.138750@80g2000cwy.googlegro ups.com...
>I have just swapped over processors from one machine to another .
>
> I AMD Athlon 2.2 from my Aopen board to a Matsonic MS8147c
> board........ and
> 1 Amd Athlon 2.5 from the Matsonic MS 8147C to the Aopen .board
>
> The problem is one swap worked , the 2.5 Coupled with the Aopen works
> fine but ........
>
> the other swap Athlon 2.2 into the Matsonic board is not working . in
> fact when i took out the processor to check everything , i smelt a
> faint burning on the processor !! .
>
> Whatever , when i replaced it , doing everything by the book , i still
> get a blank picture , no boot , nothing , but the chip fan works ok as
> do all other units , cd etc .
>
> HAVE I BLOWN THE CHIP . i was under the impression the voltage is auto
> detected , it is on the Aopen , maybe it aint on the Matsonic .
>
>
> Any ideas
>

Ext User(sdlomi2)
05-10-2011, 09:42 AM
"Nos" <bluesplayer59@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message
news:1165349599.841769.138750@80g2000cwy.googlegro ups.com...
>I have just swapped over processors from one machine to another .
>
> I AMD Athlon 2.2 from my Aopen board to a Matsonic MS8147c
> board........ and
> 1 Amd Athlon 2.5 from the Matsonic MS 8147C to the Aopen .board
>
> The problem is one swap worked , the 2.5 Coupled with the Aopen works
> fine but ........
>
> the other swap Athlon 2.2 into the Matsonic board is not working . in
> fact when i took out the processor to check everything , i smelt a
> faint burning on the processor !! .
>
> Whatever , when i replaced it , doing everything by the book , i still
> get a blank picture , no boot , nothing , but the chip fan works ok as
> do all other units , cd etc .
>
> HAVE I BLOWN THE CHIP . i was under the impression the voltage is auto
> detected , it is on the Aopen , maybe it aint on the Matsonic .
>
>
> Any ideas
>
May be silly to ask, but...did you clean both cpu's and apply new
coatings of thermal paste? s

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd