PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion for AMD x2 compatible Motherboard



Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).

So if anyone has a good suggestion let me know!

Thanks..

Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks alot.. it seems to have evrything il need :)

Ext User(Paul)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Ben wrote:
> Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).
>
> So if anyone has a good suggestion let me know!
>
> Thanks..

There are hundreds of solutions, and it is highly unlikely
we'll suggest something you'll be happy with.

I use the reviews on Newegg, to note general trends with
motherboards. The cheap stuff, around the $50 mark, has
enough problems, that you only want to go there, if you
love to return stuff.

All the boards for AM2 seem to have some level of issues.
This is the best I could pick out of the lot. Note that
this one doesn't use solid caps like some of the Gigabyte
boards. But it should last just as long as other
traditional designs.

GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $75
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128034

Once you get it, check out the chipset temps, and if
necessary, you can always fit a fan in the vicinity
of the heatsink. Some single chip chipsets run a bit hot.

Paul

Ext User(Paul)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Ben wrote:
> Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).
>
> So if anyone has a good suggestion let me know!
>
> Thanks..

There are hundreds of solutions, and it is highly unlikely
we'll suggest something you'll be happy with.

I use the reviews on Newegg, to note general trends with
motherboards. The cheap stuff, around the $50 mark, has
enough problems, that you only want to go there, if you
love to return stuff.

All the boards for AM2 seem to have some level of issues.
This is the best I could pick out of the lot. Note that
this one doesn't use solid caps like some of the Gigabyte
boards. But it should last just as long as other
traditional designs.

GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $75
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128034

Once you get it, check out the chipset temps, and if
necessary, you can always fit a fan in the vicinity
of the heatsink. Some single chip chipsets run a bit hot.

Paul

Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks alot.. it seems to have evrything il need :)

Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks alot.. it seems to have evrything il need :)

Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks alot.. it seems to have evrything il need :)

Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks alot.. it seems to have evrything il need :)

Ext User(Ben)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Thanks alot.. it seems to have evrything il need :)

Ext User(Fitz)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Look at the new ASUS M3A (AM2+) motherboard.

Fitz

Ext User(Fitz)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Look at the new ASUS M3A (AM2+) motherboard.

Fitz

Ext User(Fitz)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Look at the new ASUS M3A (AM2+) motherboard.

Fitz

Ext User(Man-wai Chang ToDie)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Ben wrote:
> Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).

Using Asus M2N-E, no problem so far. But you should try newer chipset
than nForce 570 Ultra....

--
@~@ Might, Courage, Vision, SINCERITY.
/ v \ Simplicity is Beauty! May the Force and Farce be with you!
/( _ )\ (Xubuntu 7.04) Linux 2.6.23.12
^ ^ 17:50:01 up 2 days 2:33 1 user load average: 0.05 0.02 0.00
? ? (CSSA):
http://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/index/site_pubsvc/page_socsecu/sub_addressesa/

Ext User(Man-wai Chang ToDie)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Ben wrote:
> Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).

Using Asus M2N-E, no problem so far. But you should try newer chipset
than nForce 570 Ultra....

--
@~@ Might, Courage, Vision, SINCERITY.
/ v \ Simplicity is Beauty! May the Force and Farce be with you!
/( _ )\ (Xubuntu 7.04) Linux 2.6.23.12
^ ^ 17:50:01 up 2 days 2:33 1 user load average: 0.05 0.02 0.00
? ? (CSSA):
http://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/index/site_pubsvc/page_socsecu/sub_addressesa/

Ext User(Man-wai Chang ToDie)
05-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Ben wrote:
> Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).

Using Asus M2N-E, no problem so far. But you should try newer chipset
than nForce 570 Ultra....

--
@~@ Might, Courage, Vision, SINCERITY.
/ v \ Simplicity is Beauty! May the Force and Farce be with you!
/( _ )\ (Xubuntu 7.04) Linux 2.6.23.12
^ ^ 17:50:01 up 2 days 2:33 1 user load average: 0.05 0.02 0.00
? ? (CSSA):
http://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/index/site_pubsvc/page_socsecu/sub_addressesa/

Ext User(fwibbler)
05-10-2011, 04:47 PM
Man-wai Chang ToDie <toylet.toylet@gmail.com> wrote:

> Ben wrote:
> > Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> > been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> > not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> > card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).
>
> Using Asus M2N-E, no problem so far. But you should try newer chipset
> than nForce 570 Ultra....
>
Why? Is there a problem with the M2N-E 570 Ultra?
<fx:looks glumly at the board he's just bought!>

Cheers!
--
Graham
Website - http://www.thedeathzone.free-online.co.uk

Ext User(fwibbler)
05-10-2011, 04:47 PM
Man-wai Chang ToDie <toylet.toylet@gmail.com> wrote:

> Ben wrote:
> > Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> > been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> > not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> > card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).
>
> Using Asus M2N-E, no problem so far. But you should try newer chipset
> than nForce 570 Ultra....
>
Why? Is there a problem with the M2N-E 570 Ultra?
<fx:looks glumly at the board he's just bought!>

Cheers!
--
Graham
Website - http://www.thedeathzone.free-online.co.uk

Ext User(fwibbler)
05-10-2011, 04:47 PM
Man-wai Chang ToDie <toylet.toylet@gmail.com> wrote:

> Ben wrote:
> > Ive spent hours and hours looking for the right motherboard but have
> > been unable to come to a desicion. The mother board must support AMD
> > not Intel and be upgradable for more than 3GB, also a good graphics
> > card which will work great with vista (and Aero 3D).
>
> Using Asus M2N-E, no problem so far. But you should try newer chipset
> than nForce 570 Ultra....
>
Why? Is there a problem with the M2N-E 570 Ultra?
<fx:looks glumly at the board he's just bought!>

Cheers!
--
Graham
Website - http://www.thedeathzone.free-online.co.uk

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd