PDA

View Full Version : Memory suggestions Gigabyte EP45-DS3L (DDR2 1333 / 1200 ???)



Pages : 1 2 [3]

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Jon Danniken wrote:

> "Giga Guy" wrote:

> > Looks Like I'll be returning at least 2 of the 3 boards I bought.
> >
> > What a god damn piece of shit this board looks to be.
>
> That's too bad, mine has been performing without any problems with
> the last six months, and with a 2x2Gb RAM kit in it as well.

What type of ram are you running? (brand and model number)

> Absolutely ZERO hassles on this board for me; maybe they ran
> out of the good ones.

Please try running this version of memtest from a floppy and tell me if
it runs for at least 1 pass:

http://www.memtest86.com/memtest35.zip

I'm basing my assessment that this motherboard is shit because that
version of memtest fails to run for more than a dozen seconds before
causing the system to reboot when I have two 2gb dimms installed, but
runs fine with a single 2gb dimm installed.

I'm just discovered that there is a different version or stream of
memtest and now I'm really scratching my head over this whole memtest
thing...

Ext User(Ron AF Greve)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Hi,

I got the same problem with various board one of them EP45 and the other
asus P5QC. Neither one will take 2x2GB (paired) DDR3 memory. Now one memory
stick and the EP45 are collecting dust.

Sigh...


Regards, Ron AF Greve

http://informationsuperhighway.eu

"Giga Guy" <Giga@Guy.com> wrote in message news:49B98C17.CDC18E8D@Guy.com...
> The story so far:
>
> Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3L rev 1.0
> CPU: Intel Q8200 Core2Quad CPU (2.33 ghz fsb) SLB5M
>
> Memory tried:
>
> - OCZ 2F10664GK (PC8500) Fatality Edition 4gb kit
> - Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C7 G (composed of 2 dimms: CM2X2048-8500C7)
> http://www.corsair.com/_datasheets/TWIN2X4096-8500C7.pdf
>
> Both are kits of 2 dimms, 2 gb per dim, 4 gb total
>
> Test situation: Motherboard installed in a desktop case, no hard drive,
> no CD rom. Generic video card plugged into PCI slot. Floppy drive
> connected to motherboard. memtest86 (v 3.5, single core version) booted
> and run from floppy drive.
>
> Memory is tested (first, all dimm's installed individually, one at a
> time). All dimms pass (pass = memtest86 runs for several minutes, for
> as long as I care to let it run).
>
> Next, memory is installed in pairs (single channel mode, dual channel
> mode). 2 dimms max. Dimms are not mixed.
>
> System fails test when both dimms are installed. memtest fails at
> exactly the same point - early during the first pass. System reboots
> itself.
>
> Have tried both 800 and 1066 mhz ram speed. Have raised ram voltage to
> 2.2v (for OCZ) and 2.0v for Corsair. Have set the timing to both
> auto/spd and manual (according to ram documentation).
>
> I called OCZ and confirmed that this ram has not been QVL'd on this
> board. In addition, the OCZ tech said that he's read that gigabyte
> mobo's have a lot of problems running 4 gig kits (2 x 2mb).
>
> I tried a bunch of different timing settings and ran the voltage up to
> 2.20 v (That number 2.20v is stamped on the
> sticker on this memory, the OCZ tech says he's not seeing that on his
> screen). OCZ phone is 800-459-1816.
>
> I tried a 2gb kit (2 x 1gb) Kingston (KHX6400D2LLK2/2G) and was able to
> clock them to 800 mhz no problem.
>
> I tried calling gigabyte, but after 15 minutes on hold I hung up. Phone
> (626) 854-9338.
>
> I called Kingston and asked what they have for QVL on that board (4gb
> kit). They said:
>
> KVR1066D2N7K2/4G
>
> But they said they stopped making them July 2008. They say that you are
> not going to see much DDR2-1066 anymore because everyone is focusing on
> DDR3 at that speed and faster.
>
> Called Corsair (510) 657 8747. They suggested Q2x8G6400C4DHX (8 gb
> kit). I want to run 8 gb on this board.
>
> Gigabyte memory support list for this board is useless. Hardly any
> listings for 2gb dimms.
>
> http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/MemorySupport/motherboard_memory_ga-ep45-ds3l.pdf
>
> I have a package of Kingston KHX8500D2K2/4G that I haven't yet opened
> (unless I open it carefully I won't be able to return it).
>
> Bottom line (so far) - impossible to get 2 2gb dimms to run in this
> motherboard. I bought 3 of these boards, two of them to run XP-pro
> 64-bit with 8gb each.
>
> What the **** is the deal with these ****ING motherboards and ****ING
> memory situation?
>
> I havn't bought any new motherboards for 2 YEARS. Is this how far the
> industry has come in that time? A TOTAL ****UP?
>
> I knew ASUS was a ****ed up company that made ****ed up motherboards. I
> always had good experience with Gigabyte in the past. Have they fallen
> to the catagory of ****ed up motherboard makers too?
>
> Is the EP45-DS3L capable of 8gb of memory, running AT LEAST at 800 mhz?
>
> Or have I bought 3 steaming piles of shit?

Ext User(Ron AF Greve)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Hi,

I got the same problem with various board one of them EP45 and the other
asus P5QC. Neither one will take 2x2GB (paired) DDR3 memory. Now one memory
stick and the EP45 are collecting dust.

Sigh...


Regards, Ron AF Greve

http://informationsuperhighway.eu

"Giga Guy" <Giga@Guy.com> wrote in message news:49B98C17.CDC18E8D@Guy.com...
> The story so far:
>
> Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3L rev 1.0
> CPU: Intel Q8200 Core2Quad CPU (2.33 ghz fsb) SLB5M
>
> Memory tried:
>
> - OCZ 2F10664GK (PC8500) Fatality Edition 4gb kit
> - Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C7 G (composed of 2 dimms: CM2X2048-8500C7)
> http://www.corsair.com/_datasheets/TWIN2X4096-8500C7.pdf
>
> Both are kits of 2 dimms, 2 gb per dim, 4 gb total
>
> Test situation: Motherboard installed in a desktop case, no hard drive,
> no CD rom. Generic video card plugged into PCI slot. Floppy drive
> connected to motherboard. memtest86 (v 3.5, single core version) booted
> and run from floppy drive.
>
> Memory is tested (first, all dimm's installed individually, one at a
> time). All dimms pass (pass = memtest86 runs for several minutes, for
> as long as I care to let it run).
>
> Next, memory is installed in pairs (single channel mode, dual channel
> mode). 2 dimms max. Dimms are not mixed.
>
> System fails test when both dimms are installed. memtest fails at
> exactly the same point - early during the first pass. System reboots
> itself.
>
> Have tried both 800 and 1066 mhz ram speed. Have raised ram voltage to
> 2.2v (for OCZ) and 2.0v for Corsair. Have set the timing to both
> auto/spd and manual (according to ram documentation).
>
> I called OCZ and confirmed that this ram has not been QVL'd on this
> board. In addition, the OCZ tech said that he's read that gigabyte
> mobo's have a lot of problems running 4 gig kits (2 x 2mb).
>
> I tried a bunch of different timing settings and ran the voltage up to
> 2.20 v (That number 2.20v is stamped on the
> sticker on this memory, the OCZ tech says he's not seeing that on his
> screen). OCZ phone is 800-459-1816.
>
> I tried a 2gb kit (2 x 1gb) Kingston (KHX6400D2LLK2/2G) and was able to
> clock them to 800 mhz no problem.
>
> I tried calling gigabyte, but after 15 minutes on hold I hung up. Phone
> (626) 854-9338.
>
> I called Kingston and asked what they have for QVL on that board (4gb
> kit). They said:
>
> KVR1066D2N7K2/4G
>
> But they said they stopped making them July 2008. They say that you are
> not going to see much DDR2-1066 anymore because everyone is focusing on
> DDR3 at that speed and faster.
>
> Called Corsair (510) 657 8747. They suggested Q2x8G6400C4DHX (8 gb
> kit). I want to run 8 gb on this board.
>
> Gigabyte memory support list for this board is useless. Hardly any
> listings for 2gb dimms.
>
> http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/MemorySupport/motherboard_memory_ga-ep45-ds3l.pdf
>
> I have a package of Kingston KHX8500D2K2/4G that I haven't yet opened
> (unless I open it carefully I won't be able to return it).
>
> Bottom line (so far) - impossible to get 2 2gb dimms to run in this
> motherboard. I bought 3 of these boards, two of them to run XP-pro
> 64-bit with 8gb each.
>
> What the **** is the deal with these ****ING motherboards and ****ING
> memory situation?
>
> I havn't bought any new motherboards for 2 YEARS. Is this how far the
> industry has come in that time? A TOTAL ****UP?
>
> I knew ASUS was a ****ed up company that made ****ed up motherboards. I
> always had good experience with Gigabyte in the past. Have they fallen
> to the catagory of ****ed up motherboard makers too?
>
> Is the EP45-DS3L capable of 8gb of memory, running AT LEAST at 800 mhz?
>
> Or have I bought 3 steaming piles of shit?

Ext User(yogi)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
On Fri, 13 Mar 2009 09:11:34 -0400, Giga Guy <Giga@Guy.com> wrote:

>Jon Danniken wrote:
>
>> "Giga Guy" wrote:
>
>> > Looks Like I'll be returning at least 2 of the 3 boards I bought.
>> >
>> > What a god damn piece of shit this board looks to be.
>>
>> That's too bad, mine has been performing without any problems with
>> the last six months, and with a 2x2Gb RAM kit in it as well.
>
>What type of ram are you running? (brand and model number)
>
>> Absolutely ZERO hassles on this board for me; maybe they ran
>> out of the good ones.
>
>Please try running this version of memtest from a floppy and tell me if
>it runs for at least 1 pass:
>
>http://www.memtest86.com/memtest35.zip
>
>I'm basing my assessment that this motherboard is shit because that
>version of memtest fails to run for more than a dozen seconds before
>causing the system to reboot when I have two 2gb dimms installed, but
>runs fine with a single 2gb dimm installed.
>
>I'm just discovered that there is a different version or stream of
>memtest and now I'm really scratching my head over this whole memtest
>thing...

My setup has been running flawless ever since I built it back in Dec
last year.

Antec Earthwatts 650watt Power Supply (EA-650)
GIGABYTE - GA-EP45-DS3L (rev 1.1)
Intel® Core™2 DUO E8600 3.33Ghz/6MB/1333FSB/LGA 775
Intel Stock Heatsink Fan
PATRIOT SIGNATURE DDR2 PC2-6400 CL5 2gig x 2 (PSD22G8002H)
GIGABYTE - GV-NX96T512HP rev.3.0 (GeForce 9600GT 512mb)
Bios Ver : 22/09/2008-Intel EP45 BIOS for EP45-DS3L F10

Cheers

Ext User(yogi)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
On Fri, 13 Mar 2009 09:11:34 -0400, Giga Guy <Giga@Guy.com> wrote:

>Jon Danniken wrote:
>
>> "Giga Guy" wrote:
>
>> > Looks Like I'll be returning at least 2 of the 3 boards I bought.
>> >
>> > What a god damn piece of shit this board looks to be.
>>
>> That's too bad, mine has been performing without any problems with
>> the last six months, and with a 2x2Gb RAM kit in it as well.
>
>What type of ram are you running? (brand and model number)
>
>> Absolutely ZERO hassles on this board for me; maybe they ran
>> out of the good ones.
>
>Please try running this version of memtest from a floppy and tell me if
>it runs for at least 1 pass:
>
>http://www.memtest86.com/memtest35.zip
>
>I'm basing my assessment that this motherboard is shit because that
>version of memtest fails to run for more than a dozen seconds before
>causing the system to reboot when I have two 2gb dimms installed, but
>runs fine with a single 2gb dimm installed.
>
>I'm just discovered that there is a different version or stream of
>memtest and now I'm really scratching my head over this whole memtest
>thing...

My setup has been running flawless ever since I built it back in Dec
last year.

Antec Earthwatts 650watt Power Supply (EA-650)
GIGABYTE - GA-EP45-DS3L (rev 1.1)
Intel® Core™2 DUO E8600 3.33Ghz/6MB/1333FSB/LGA 775
Intel Stock Heatsink Fan
PATRIOT SIGNATURE DDR2 PC2-6400 CL5 2gig x 2 (PSD22G8002H)
GIGABYTE - GV-NX96T512HP rev.3.0 (GeForce 9600GT 512mb)
Bios Ver : 22/09/2008-Intel EP45 BIOS for EP45-DS3L F10

Cheers

Ext User(ToolPackinMama)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Giga Guy wrote:
> I've tried to run both types of 4gb kits at 800 mhz AND THEY DON'T WORK!

Why not just RMA all of it? When they ask why, say "not as
advertised/doesn't work".

Ext User(ToolPackinMama)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Giga Guy wrote:
> I've tried to run both types of 4gb kits at 800 mhz AND THEY DON'T WORK!

Why not just RMA all of it? When they ask why, say "not as
advertised/doesn't work".

Ext User(Bob Bailin)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
"Giga Guy" <Giga@Guy.com> wrote in message news:49B99DA3.AB639740@Guy.com...
> Bob Bailin wrote:
>
>> > Bottom line (so far) - impossible to get 2 2gb dimms to run in this
>> > motherboard. I bought 3 of these boards, two of them to run XP-pro
>> > 64-bit with 8gb each.
>>
>> > Is the EP45-DS3L capable of 8gb of memory, running AT LEAST at
>> > 800 mhz?
>> >
>> > Or have I bought 3 steaming piles of shit?
>>
>> Despite your 2nd to last question, you seem hell-bent on buying
>> 1066 MHz memory.
>>
>> If you can actually settle for 800 MHz memory, ...
>
> I've tried to run both types of 4gb kits at 800 mhz AND THEY DON'T WORK!

Both types of 4gb you mention:
- OCZ 2F10664GK (PC8500) Fatality Edition 4gb kit
- Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C7 G (composed of 2 dimms: CM2X2048-8500C7)

are PC8500, i.e., 1066 MHz memory. Trying to run it at 800 mhz
doesn't always work on some motherboards.

You haven't tried the cheaper 800 MHz memory, which should work
with the default settings from the onboard spd chips.

>
> My definition of "don't work" means that memtest86 will not run for as
> long as I let it run.
>
> I've tried the default settings and kept the memory speed to 800 mhz and
> I can't get a single 4gb kit to run memtest86 for more than the first
> few seconds before the machine spontaneously reboots itself. Memtest86
> fails at exactly the same point regardless of the pair of 2gb dimms
> that's installed.
>

Again, explicitly setting the memory speed to 800 mhz is *not* a
default setting. Leaving everything at "automatic" or whatever they
call it in your BIOS memory settings is really the "default" setting.
This includes the memory voltage settings.

Ext User(Bob Bailin)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
"Giga Guy" <Giga@Guy.com> wrote in message news:49B99DA3.AB639740@Guy.com...
> Bob Bailin wrote:
>
>> > Bottom line (so far) - impossible to get 2 2gb dimms to run in this
>> > motherboard. I bought 3 of these boards, two of them to run XP-pro
>> > 64-bit with 8gb each.
>>
>> > Is the EP45-DS3L capable of 8gb of memory, running AT LEAST at
>> > 800 mhz?
>> >
>> > Or have I bought 3 steaming piles of shit?
>>
>> Despite your 2nd to last question, you seem hell-bent on buying
>> 1066 MHz memory.
>>
>> If you can actually settle for 800 MHz memory, ...
>
> I've tried to run both types of 4gb kits at 800 mhz AND THEY DON'T WORK!

Both types of 4gb you mention:
- OCZ 2F10664GK (PC8500) Fatality Edition 4gb kit
- Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C7 G (composed of 2 dimms: CM2X2048-8500C7)

are PC8500, i.e., 1066 MHz memory. Trying to run it at 800 mhz
doesn't always work on some motherboards.

You haven't tried the cheaper 800 MHz memory, which should work
with the default settings from the onboard spd chips.

>
> My definition of "don't work" means that memtest86 will not run for as
> long as I let it run.
>
> I've tried the default settings and kept the memory speed to 800 mhz and
> I can't get a single 4gb kit to run memtest86 for more than the first
> few seconds before the machine spontaneously reboots itself. Memtest86
> fails at exactly the same point regardless of the pair of 2gb dimms
> that's installed.
>

Again, explicitly setting the memory speed to 800 mhz is *not* a
default setting. Leaving everything at "automatic" or whatever they
call it in your BIOS memory settings is really the "default" setting.
This includes the memory voltage settings.

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Ok, I think I know what's happening.

There are 2 versions of memtest.

One is called memtest86:

http://www.memtest86.com/download.html (latest version 3.5)

And the other is called memtest86+ (plus):

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool (latest version 2.11)
http://www.memtest.org/

I've confirmed that on this gigabyte board (with quad-core) and a two
year old Asus board (with core2 dual core), that the 3.5 version of
memtest causes both systems to spontaneously reboot early during the
first test pass if there are 4 gb of memory installed (4 banks of 1 gb
dimms, or 2 banks of 2gb dimms). However, if both systems have 3 gb
installed (2 banks of 1 gb, 2 banks of 512 mb) memtest 3.5 runs fine on
both.

The other memtest (version 2.11) works ok on both systems with 4 gb.

The only other odd thing is that there is a multi-core version of
memtest 3.5. It does not run on this gigabyte EP45-DS3L (with core2
quad-core cpu) regardless of the amount of installed memory. It does
run on the Asus board (core2 dual core).

I'm surprised that this bug in memtest 3.5 isin't more widely known, or
at least fixed.

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Ok, I think I know what's happening.

There are 2 versions of memtest.

One is called memtest86:

http://www.memtest86.com/download.html (latest version 3.5)

And the other is called memtest86+ (plus):

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool (latest version 2.11)
http://www.memtest.org/

I've confirmed that on this gigabyte board (with quad-core) and a two
year old Asus board (with core2 dual core), that the 3.5 version of
memtest causes both systems to spontaneously reboot early during the
first test pass if there are 4 gb of memory installed (4 banks of 1 gb
dimms, or 2 banks of 2gb dimms). However, if both systems have 3 gb
installed (2 banks of 1 gb, 2 banks of 512 mb) memtest 3.5 runs fine on
both.

The other memtest (version 2.11) works ok on both systems with 4 gb.

The only other odd thing is that there is a multi-core version of
memtest 3.5. It does not run on this gigabyte EP45-DS3L (with core2
quad-core cpu) regardless of the amount of installed memory. It does
run on the Asus board (core2 dual core).

I'm surprised that this bug in memtest 3.5 isin't more widely known, or
at least fixed.

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Ok, after all that shit with memtest 3.5, I'll be using memtest86+ 2.11
from now on.

What I've been testing so far are these:

Kingston KHX8500D2K2/4G

Kingston specs are 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2V, but they run really hot. I didn't
take them above 2.0v. I found it was stable at 6-6-6-16 at 1066mhz
(memory clock at 533 mhz) at 1.9v. I tried running it at 1110 mhz at
2.0v but it failed memtest 2.11 consistently at about the 35% part of
pass 1. Running at 1066, memtest reports 4226 mb/sec (single channel)
and 5425 mb/sec (dual channel).

Corsair Twin2X4096-8500C

Specs printed on the dimms say 7-7-7-20, 2.0v, 1066 mhz. I found it
stable at 6-6-6-16 at 2.0v running 1110 mhz. Memtest
reports 4385 mb/s (single channel). Haven't tried them in dual channel.

I'd have to give the edge to Corsair in this comparison.

This again is on a Gigabyte EP45-DS3L with Intel Q8200 (Core2 Quad
SLB5M) 2.33 GHz (clock multiplier 333 MHz x 7).

My next test won't be for another day or two. I will try the OCZ
fatality again, and try a full 8gb of ram.

Does anyone mess around with the pages and pages of additional bios ram
settings? Is there any pattern or proceedure for setting those? Should
I even bother?

Does anyone maintains a list of memtest speed charts or tables? There
are lots of performance numbers out there that the various publications
resort to, but I don't think I've seen any of them use the raw mb/sec
numbers from memtest86.

Why on earth did the industry migrate from DDR to DDR2 and now to DDR3
if there are really no performance benefits from all these new ram
versions - especially the transition from DDR2 to DDR3 ?

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Ok, after all that shit with memtest 3.5, I'll be using memtest86+ 2.11
from now on.

What I've been testing so far are these:

Kingston KHX8500D2K2/4G

Kingston specs are 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2V, but they run really hot. I didn't
take them above 2.0v. I found it was stable at 6-6-6-16 at 1066mhz
(memory clock at 533 mhz) at 1.9v. I tried running it at 1110 mhz at
2.0v but it failed memtest 2.11 consistently at about the 35% part of
pass 1. Running at 1066, memtest reports 4226 mb/sec (single channel)
and 5425 mb/sec (dual channel).

Corsair Twin2X4096-8500C

Specs printed on the dimms say 7-7-7-20, 2.0v, 1066 mhz. I found it
stable at 6-6-6-16 at 2.0v running 1110 mhz. Memtest
reports 4385 mb/s (single channel). Haven't tried them in dual channel.

I'd have to give the edge to Corsair in this comparison.

This again is on a Gigabyte EP45-DS3L with Intel Q8200 (Core2 Quad
SLB5M) 2.33 GHz (clock multiplier 333 MHz x 7).

My next test won't be for another day or two. I will try the OCZ
fatality again, and try a full 8gb of ram.

Does anyone mess around with the pages and pages of additional bios ram
settings? Is there any pattern or proceedure for setting those? Should
I even bother?

Does anyone maintains a list of memtest speed charts or tables? There
are lots of performance numbers out there that the various publications
resort to, but I don't think I've seen any of them use the raw mb/sec
numbers from memtest86.

Why on earth did the industry migrate from DDR to DDR2 and now to DDR3
if there are really no performance benefits from all these new ram
versions - especially the transition from DDR2 to DDR3 ?

Ext User(Bob Bailin)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
"Giga Guy" <Giga@Guy.com> wrote in message news:49BAE808.51FA51A2@Guy.com...
> Ok, I think I know what's happening.
>
> There are 2 versions of memtest.
>
> One is called memtest86:
>
> http://www.memtest86.com/download.html (latest version 3.5)
>
> And the other is called memtest86+ (plus):
>
> Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool (latest version 2.11)
> http://www.memtest.org/
>
> I've confirmed that on this gigabyte board (with quad-core) and a two
> year old Asus board (with core2 dual core), that the 3.5 version of
> memtest causes both systems to spontaneously reboot early during the
> first test pass if there are 4 gb of memory installed (4 banks of 1 gb
> dimms, or 2 banks of 2gb dimms). However, if both systems have 3 gb
> installed (2 banks of 1 gb, 2 banks of 512 mb) memtest 3.5 runs fine on
> both.
>
> The other memtest (version 2.11) works ok on both systems with 4 gb.

Memtest86+ (ver 2.11) is the more actively supported of the two,
and is the more current of the two. If you read the release notes
for memtest86+, you'll see that they have to continually address
quirks introduced in the newest CPUs and chipsets.

>
> The only other odd thing is that there is a multi-core version of
> memtest 3.5. It does not run on this gigabyte EP45-DS3L (with core2
> quad-core cpu) regardless of the amount of installed memory. It does
> run on the Asus board (core2 dual core).
>
> I'm surprised that this bug in memtest 3.5 isin't more widely known, or
> at least fixed.

The memtest86.com website is currently unavailable, but IIRC they
released ver 3.5 sometime last year after a 3+ year hiatus since
ver 3.4, an eternity in the computer world.

Ext User(Bob Bailin)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
"Giga Guy" <Giga@Guy.com> wrote in message news:49BAE808.51FA51A2@Guy.com...
> Ok, I think I know what's happening.
>
> There are 2 versions of memtest.
>
> One is called memtest86:
>
> http://www.memtest86.com/download.html (latest version 3.5)
>
> And the other is called memtest86+ (plus):
>
> Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool (latest version 2.11)
> http://www.memtest.org/
>
> I've confirmed that on this gigabyte board (with quad-core) and a two
> year old Asus board (with core2 dual core), that the 3.5 version of
> memtest causes both systems to spontaneously reboot early during the
> first test pass if there are 4 gb of memory installed (4 banks of 1 gb
> dimms, or 2 banks of 2gb dimms). However, if both systems have 3 gb
> installed (2 banks of 1 gb, 2 banks of 512 mb) memtest 3.5 runs fine on
> both.
>
> The other memtest (version 2.11) works ok on both systems with 4 gb.

Memtest86+ (ver 2.11) is the more actively supported of the two,
and is the more current of the two. If you read the release notes
for memtest86+, you'll see that they have to continually address
quirks introduced in the newest CPUs and chipsets.

>
> The only other odd thing is that there is a multi-core version of
> memtest 3.5. It does not run on this gigabyte EP45-DS3L (with core2
> quad-core cpu) regardless of the amount of installed memory. It does
> run on the Asus board (core2 dual core).
>
> I'm surprised that this bug in memtest 3.5 isin't more widely known, or
> at least fixed.

The memtest86.com website is currently unavailable, but IIRC they
released ver 3.5 sometime last year after a 3+ year hiatus since
ver 3.4, an eternity in the computer world.

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Bob Bailin wrote:

> > Ok, I think I know what's happening.
> >
> > There are 2 versions of memtest.

> Memtest86+ (ver 2.11) is the more actively supported of the two,
> and is the more current of the two.

Memtest86 version 3.5 is claimed to be Jan 3, 2009.

Memtest86+ version 2.11 is claimed to be Dec 12, 2008.

I don't know how you define "current", but the 3.5 version is slightly
newer than the 2.11 version.

> If you read the release notes for memtest86+, you'll see that
> they have to continually address quirks introduced in the newest
> CPUs and chipsets.

I don't know what the problem is testing a system with 4gb of memory,
but the 3.5 version failed miserably at that, even on a 2.5 year old
Asus board (P5NSLI - NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI chipset).

> The memtest86.com website is currently unavailable, but IIRC they
> released ver 3.5 sometime last year after a 3+ year hiatus since
> ver 3.4, an eternity in the computer world.

3.4 is dated Aug 2, 2007 according to their website. That's only 1.5
years ago. 3.5 is listed as Jan 2009.

The changelog for 3.5 says this:

- Support for detection of additional
chipsets. (from Memtest86+ v2.11)

Memtest86+ v2.11 can test an Asus P5NSLI and Gigabyte EP45-DS3L each
with 4 gb of ram without crashing. Memtest86 v3.5 can't.

Ext User(Giga Guy)
05-10-2011, 10:48 PM
Bob Bailin wrote:

> > Ok, I think I know what's happening.
> >
> > There are 2 versions of memtest.

> Memtest86+ (ver 2.11) is the more actively supported of the two,
> and is the more current of the two.

Memtest86 version 3.5 is claimed to be Jan 3, 2009.

Memtest86+ version 2.11 is claimed to be Dec 12, 2008.

I don't know how you define "current", but the 3.5 version is slightly
newer than the 2.11 version.

> If you read the release notes for memtest86+, you'll see that
> they have to continually address quirks introduced in the newest
> CPUs and chipsets.

I don't know what the problem is testing a system with 4gb of memory,
but the 3.5 version failed miserably at that, even on a 2.5 year old
Asus board (P5NSLI - NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI chipset).

> The memtest86.com website is currently unavailable, but IIRC they
> released ver 3.5 sometime last year after a 3+ year hiatus since
> ver 3.4, an eternity in the computer world.

3.4 is dated Aug 2, 2007 according to their website. That's only 1.5
years ago. 3.5 is listed as Jan 2009.

The changelog for 3.5 says this:

- Support for detection of additional
chipsets. (from Memtest86+ v2.11)

Memtest86+ v2.11 can test an Asus P5NSLI and Gigabyte EP45-DS3L each
with 4 gb of ram without crashing. Memtest86 v3.5 can't.

Hosted by: Eyo Technologies Pty Ltd. Sponsored by: Actiontec Pty Ltd