porno türk porno rokettube
Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 153

Thread: Check your internet speed

  1. #101
    Heavenly's Avatar
    Heavenly is offline Winner - Best newbie 2007
    Valued Forum Member
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wherever Dora is....
    Posts
    1,119
    Quote Originally Posted by RANDOID View Post
    ummm...

    How you internet determines its speed is dependant on the quality of the lines between you and the computer your accessing and the line distance between both computers.

    Some old phone lines can't handle high speed connections... so your connection goes slower on them...

    There's a fibre optic line between Australia and the US (it seems), Downloading information from a computer in the US is faster then downloading from one in chine because the line quality between both computers is designed to handle high speed internet.
    Ahhhh. I see.

    Cheers

    Now I get it. I would've thought there was a standard line across the board, but, eh.
    .... WHITE.....RANKERS.... Say it with me...

  2. #102
    Hermit's Avatar
    Hermit is offline 2007 Winner - Thanks for your time as a mod. Drinks are on nsu!
    Winner - The SHUT-UP Award for the best comeback 2009
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    South Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    5,646
    Quote Originally Posted by Heavenly View Post
    why do I get 2 way different speed test results??

    Download Speed : 2479 kbps (309.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed : 632 kbps (79 KB/sec transfer rate)
    The download speed is what you get from the internet. The upload speed is what others on the internet get from you. It's a bit like having a two-way street where the speed limit going in one direction is different to the speed limit going the opposite way.

    Quote Originally Posted by Heavenly View Post
    And I'm assuming the distance is supposedly the distance from the server, exchange, whatever?
    Because I'm only less than 5 k's from the exchange. As far as I was led to believe when I signed up....
    The physical connection, the copper wires from your computer to the nearest exchange is probably only five kilometres. That is not the final destination for the test packet. In your case it's some other computer, 50 miles away. If you scroll up. you'll notice that Las's message ended up over 1000 miles away and Whitlam's more than 2000.
    Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful. - Lucius Annaeus Seneca 4 BC – AD 65

    God created the universe
    God just exists

  3. #103
    custos's Avatar
    custos is offline 2007 Winner - Please don't do an Ozeagle on us. Member who we don't want to lose. Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,963
    Okay, I have to show you this so you believe it. I have not Photoshopped those numbers



    A friend put me on to a little utility called UnBlocka, which as far as I can tell it makes some adjustments to the default Microsoft TCP/IP settings and allows for greater performance as a result. There are other utilities that do this also. from their web site:

    The Windows operating system is not configured by default to take full advantage of modern high speed international high latency broadband connections.

    UnBlocka will tune the Windows computer to the optimum values based on the type of internet connection that you have e.g ADSL2+ or Cable.
    Test your speed before and after to see if you get an improvement (by the way, the speed I'm getting is on my company LAN - don't expect to get 21 Gb/s on your ADSL but even so it improved my speed by nearly double)

    Facts are meaningless. You can use facts to prove anything that's even remotely true. Facts, schmacts. - Homer Simpson

  4. #104
    Quote Originally Posted by custos View Post
    Okay, I have to show you this so you believe it. I have not Photoshopped those numbers



    A friend put me on to a little utility called UnBlocka, which as far as I can tell it makes some adjustments to the default Microsoft TCP/IP settings and allows for greater performance as a result. There are other utilities that do this also. from their web site:



    Test your speed before and after to see if you get an improvement (by the way, the speed I'm getting is on my company LAN - don't expect to get 21 Gb/s on your ADSL but even so it improved my speed by nearly double)
    I did that ages ago... Didn't make much difference... Your company LAN's speed will vary on user load. also, internet based speed tests arn't a real reliable ethod of testing your connections speed... it tests how fast it can go to that particular computer which varies on many factors... So its not necessarily unblocka that's making your speed faster...

    That being said, i would rather run the unblocka utility on my computer than not... I don't particularly like paying money for unnescesarily massive amounts of conformation signals.

  5. #105
    Hermit's Avatar
    Hermit is offline 2007 Winner - Thanks for your time as a mod. Drinks are on nsu!
    Winner - The SHUT-UP Award for the best comeback 2009
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    South Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    5,646
    Custos, I hate you with all my heart.

    Hate you

    Hate you

    Hate you





    Thanks for the link just the same.
    Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful. - Lucius Annaeus Seneca 4 BC – AD 65

    God created the universe
    God just exists

  6. #106
    BiggyRat's Avatar
    BiggyRat is offline 2007 Winner - Damn you can be annoying, but we still like you... sometimes. Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bongo Congo
    Age
    52
    Posts
    10,222
    Check out MY latest readings!




    Telstra just notified me of a free upgrade to the cable network, so I re-tested and 30Mbps!!!! Man that's getting quick. Even my upload speed has quaddrupled!
    "Damned if I do, Damned if I don't, stuffed if I care..." BiggyRat 2010

  7. #107
    Watcher's Avatar
    Watcher is offline Admin
    Winner - Naughtiest Mod/Admin 2007.
    I review Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Admin
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,009,862
    That is pretty sweet!

  8. #108
    jokiin's Avatar
    jokiin is offline Administrator
    Winner - Best Signature Award 2009
    Rules maintainer Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    52
    Posts
    6,184
    Quote Originally Posted by BiggyRat View Post
    Telstra just notified me of a free upgrade to the cable network, so I re-tested and 30Mbps!!!! Man that's getting quick. Even my upload speed has quaddrupled!
    Thta's how internet should be

    Mine is ok for ADSL1, would be happy to get your kind of speed though


  9. #109
    custos's Avatar
    custos is offline 2007 Winner - Please don't do an Ozeagle on us. Member who we don't want to lose. Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,963


    faster download but slower upload than before.

    Facts are meaningless. You can use facts to prove anything that's even remotely true. Facts, schmacts. - Homer Simpson

  10. #110
    MeanDean's Avatar
    MeanDean is offline Winner - Member most likely to go off topic 2007,2008
    Winner - The Seinfeld Award (the member that most often posts about nothing) 2009
    Winner - The Delorean Mile High Club (solo aviator division) award 2022
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Buscando Polla
    Age
    45
    Posts
    5,851
    Blog Entries
    42
    How much are you paying and what's the data limit custos? I'm thinking I can watch an entire porn movie in 3/4 of a second at those speeds.
    #F5F5FF
    Go the Greens!

  11. #111
    Hermit's Avatar
    Hermit is offline 2007 Winner - Thanks for your time as a mod. Drinks are on nsu!
    Winner - The SHUT-UP Award for the best comeback 2009
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    South Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    5,646
    Quote Originally Posted by MeanDean View Post
    How much are you paying and what's the data limit custos?
    The server is in Canberra and the distance from it is about 300 miles. I'm sure you can work out both the cost to Custos, as well as the data limit from there.

    Here's a hint if you can't: "by the way, the speed I'm getting is on my company LAN - don't expect to get 21 Gb/s on your ADSL"
    Last edited by Hermit; 13-09-2007 at 08:37 PM.
    Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful. - Lucius Annaeus Seneca 4 BC – AD 65

    God created the universe
    God just exists

  12. #112
    Las's Avatar
    Las is offline -Winner best Avatar Award 2008
    Team Purple Pups . Current champions of Watchie's Quiz Thingie.
    Valued Forum Member
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    30
    Posts
    6,113
    Blog Entries
    3


    just got our cable networked to other computers around the house.. and now it runs faster.. is that supposed to happen?
    ... Shiny!

    Purple Pups

  13. #113
    SHY's Avatar
    SHY is offline Winner - Most likely to have a blonde moment 2007.
    Winner - Most Likely to go off topic Award 2009
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    24,545
    Blog Entries
    3
    I don't know how to get the Speedtest thingie there, like everyone has put ?
    ~ A Mother holds her childrens hands for a while, their hearts forever. ~

  14. #114

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    perth
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,856
    hmn... mine was 423kbps download and 106kbps upload... is that good or bad???

  15. #115
    MeanDean's Avatar
    MeanDean is offline Winner - Member most likely to go off topic 2007,2008
    Winner - The Seinfeld Award (the member that most often posts about nothing) 2009
    Winner - The Delorean Mile High Club (solo aviator division) award 2022
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Buscando Polla
    Age
    45
    Posts
    5,851
    Blog Entries
    42
    That's normal for a 512/128 connection.

    Quote Originally Posted by SHY View Post
    I don't know how to get the Speedtest thingie there, like everyone has put ?
    There's a button after you do the test, a few buttons, that say "Copy" on them, next to the text if I recall correctly, and you just click on the one that you want to copy and it will be on your clipboard just llike you had highlighted it and selected copy. You won't actually be able to see that it was copied. It's because it's a flash window, it has to be designed to allow copying from and in this case instead of designing something that highlights the text and gives a copy option they chose to use a button instead. I had the same problem the first time I ran into one of those too.
    #F5F5FF
    Go the Greens!

  16. #116
    Diabolical's Avatar
    Diabolical is offline -Winner of the Shut-Up award for best comeback 2008
    -Winner-Best Signature Award 2008
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,292
    Bleh, mine is pretty average....



    I'm with internet on a standard ADSL connection of 512/128 kbps. It's a 20Gb plan for $54.95/month. I love Internode and for just $5 more I can get the same limit on ADSL2 but they don't offer it on my exchange

    I've been looking at other ISP's to churn over to that do have it on my exchange and even signed up with Optus but pulled out last minute as they insist on a 24 month contract, frown on torrent use and I've heard reports of them just cutting off internet access to a user they deem as downloading/uploading too much. Basically all the other ISP's are either too expensive, too crappy with their customer service, or don't offer the type of plan I want. So I shall just keep nagging Internode to get ADSL2 on at my exchange!

    Shy, you get the above image by going to Speedtest.net. Do the speed test there, save the image and upload it from a host site. It's a damn site easier just to copy and paste your results
    Last edited by Diabolical; 14-09-2007 at 04:59 PM.
    Proper capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse and helping your uncle jack off a horse.

  17. #117
    Diabolical's Avatar
    Diabolical is offline -Winner of the Shut-Up award for best comeback 2008
    -Winner-Best Signature Award 2008
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,292
    Quote Originally Posted by MeanDean View Post
    That's normal for a 512/128 connection.


    There's a button after you do the test, a few buttons, that say "Copy" on them, next to the text if I recall correctly, and you just click on the one that you want to copy and it will be on your clipboard just llike you had highlighted it and selected copy. You won't actually be able to see that it was copied. It's because it's a flash window, it has to be designed to allow copying from and in this case instead of designing something that highlights the text and gives a copy option they chose to use a button instead. I had the same problem the first time I ran into one of those too.
    I knew there must have been an easier way to do it
    Proper capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse and helping your uncle jack off a horse.

  18. #118
    popeye's Avatar
    popeye is offline Winner - Best signature 2007
    Valued Forum Member
    Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brissy
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,513


    Not the fastest connection, but it does the job, and is a hell of a lot faster than the dial-up I was on a year or so back.
    Sarcasm helps to keep me from telling people what I really think of them.

  19. #119
    Watcher's Avatar
    Watcher is offline Admin
    Winner - Naughtiest Mod/Admin 2007.
    I review Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Admin
    Age
    47
    Posts
    7,009,862
    Quote Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
    I'm on a 1500 - 256 plan and my results are:

    Download Speed: 1270 kbps (158.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 199 kbps (24.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Back in May, I replied with the above speeds and that's pretty much what I have averaged the whole time I've been on this adsl1 connection and I'm fine with that.

    I've done the test a few times today and it's giving me the following now...

    Is that speed possible on my 1500 connection? I haven't upgraded plans at all and I was told that I couldn't go faster as I'm on a rural RIM anyway.

  20. #120
    tuesday's Avatar
    tuesday is offline Moderator
    Friendliest Mod/Admin Award 2008, 2009
    Winner - 5 star member (we don't want her to leave) 2008, 2009
    Winner - Most Helpful Member 2009
    Rules maintainer Committed forum member

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Blue Mountains nsw
    Posts
    19,345


    Catch your dreams before they slip away.

Similar Threads

  1. how to check cpu speed
    By Ext User(Mr.Mystic) in forum microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-08-2006, 08:23 AM
  2. Broadband speed check
    By Ext User(steam3801) in forum aus.computers
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-07-2006, 11:43 PM
  3. internet speed
    By Ext User(Jasmin) in forum microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-06-2006, 08:43 AM
  4. How to speed up internet
    By stacey in forum microsoft.public.windowsxp.help_and_support
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 20-01-2005, 06:13 PM
  5. Re: OT: Internet Speed
    By changeling in forum aus.tv
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20-01-2004, 10:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •